Scanning the day away! A view from the trenches…

dan_scanningHello there! My name is Daniel. I am an Etruscan archaeologist. Yet, on Wednesday of every week I work at the National Pipe Archive digitising all sorts of pipe related documentation. I have, so far, scanned my way through a small sample of David Atkinson’s notebooks (those discussed below) and A through to F of Adrian Oswald’s pipe makers mark index (more coming soon). The collections of the National Pipe Archive to be digitised are as varied as they are vast. I certainly have a lot to be getting on with…

At the outset I envisioned I was in for a tedious (although undoubtedly worthwhile) task. Yet, as I progressed it became more and more difficult not to become engrossed in the material I was scanning. Surprisingly, the task was more absorbing than tedious. The character and charm of every document (be it notes, correspondence, or drawings) emerges from their meticulous detail and careful arrangement. I am consistently impressed by the level of thought, commitment, and time expended by their authors to create such useful resources.

The scanning can be a challenge (in more ways than one) but it is gratifying to be a part of the project that aims to facilitate improved access to so impressive an archive. The knowledge of the archive is now not only being more efficiently preserved, but also more efficiently opened to those who would put such knowledge to good use. I think those who so thoroughly devoted themselves to their study of pipes would be immensely gratified to see their work shared so widely. To see it continue to make an impact. To see it function as a key component of the National Pipe Archive. To see it digitised.

The scanning is absorbing because each scanned item more easily shares another amazing resource.

I best get back to work…

 

Leave a Reply

